This week I am reviewing a news release. Since I want to be a part of the Make-A-Wish team in the future, I reviewed one of the organization’s news releases that was on their website.

The news release was about ESPN and Make-A-Wish  teaming up to grant six kids’ wishes. It was also about ESPN doing a summer series profile on each of the wish kids. The release contained interesting information, and I liked the writing style. Although I did notice some things that did not follow the news release model I have learned in class.

In the news release title all of the beginning letters were capitalized, which I have learned is not The Associated Press style. Only the first word of a title needs to be capitalized according to AP Style. The release was a hybrid news release. Its introductory paragraph did a good job of hooking the reader and making the release interesting.

The news release can be found at http://www.wish.org/news/news_releases/espn_my_wish_series_2012.

